Through the work of students, scientists, designers, professionals and broader communities, Energy + Urbanism aims to identify future visions, apply emerging technologies, and design better solutions for our evolving world. Below are some of the contributors to this important endeveor.

University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Scott Poole, FAIA

Dean, College of Architecture + Design

Taylor Eighmy, PhD

Vice Chancellor for Research & Engagement

David Millhorn, PhD

Executive Vice President and VP for Research; President, UT Research Foundation

James Richard Rose

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Senior Lecturer, Director of Institute for Smart Structures, College of Architecture + Design

​Brad Collett

Assistant Professor, School of Landscape Architecture & Department of Plant Sciences

Gale Fulton

Associate Professor, Director of the School Landscape Architecture

Jason Young

Professor, Director of the School of Architecture

Amanda Johnson

Director of Communications, College of Architecture + Design

Florence Graves

Director of Finance & Administration, College of Architecture + Design

Stacey Patterson

Vice President of UT’s Research Foundation

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Dr. Mohammad Khaleel

Associate Laboratory Director, Energy and Environmental Sciences Directorate

Dr. Lonnie Love

Group Leader, Manufacturing Systems Research

Dr. Claus Daniel

Director, Sustainable Transportation Program

Dr. Jack D. Fellows

Director, Climate Change Science Institute

Dr. Roderick Jackson

Group Leader, Building Envelope Systems Research

Melissa Lapsa

Deputy Director, Urban Dynamic Institute Group Leader, Whole-Building & Community Integration

Patrick Hughes

Director, Building Technologies Program

Dr. Joshua Ryan New

R&D Staff, Whole-Building and Community Integration

Martin Keller, PhD

Previous Associate Laboratory Director, Energy and Environmental Sciences

Johney Green, Jr., PhD

Previous Director, Energy and Transportation Science Division

Budhendra Bhaduri, Ph.D.

Director, Corporate Research Fellow, Leader

Dr. Robert M. Wagner


Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Keith Boswell, FAIA

Deputy Governor’s Chair, Partner

Douglas Voigt, AIA, AICP

Partner, Urban Design and Planning​

Brian Lee, FAIA

Design Partner

William Baker, PE, SE, FASCE, FIStructE, NAE

Partner, Structural and Civil Engineering

Scott Duncan, AIA, LEED AP

Design Partner

Lucas Tryggestad, AIA, LEED AP

Deputy Governor’s Chair, Director

Tanvi Parikh, AICP, LEED AP

Project Manager

Leif Eikevik, AIA, LEED AP

Senior Architect

Kristopher Takács, AIA


Luke Leung PE, LEED

Director, Sustainable Engineering

Andrew Obendorf, AIA

Associate Director, Studio Head

Benton Johnson

Associate Director

Maged Guerguis

Senior Architect

Paul O'Connor

Program Strategist

Rachel Belanger

Past Program Strategist

Jeannine Colaco

Graphics and Communications Strategist


Paul Bamson

Planning Intern